Progress: Cathedral of the Golden Lady

I don’t have much to say, but I thought I’d post what I’ve been spending most of my time working on recently: the cathedral I talked about a bit in my last post. I’ve decided to have it more built into a mountainside rather than entirely underground, in order to get some cool lighting in there. I’m working on figuring out additional lighting sources as well; much of it won’t have any windows providing light.

Being able to utilize Maya and Unity in my design process is a lot of fun; rather than just drawing everything out and making some study models, I get to fairly quickly see how things look in 3d and at scale.

But anyways, I’m really happy with how it’s coming. I still have a lot of clean up work (a good amount of polygons can be cut out) to do and some UVing to do. And some more design work. Still not entirely sure what I’m going to do with the hall’s ceiling and the second floor above it. But I’m excited to start getting textures and lights on what I have.

Here are some images of my progress so far:

Initial floorplan sketch for the main floor. The small hallway in the bottom right is where you enter. My concept here was inspired by something that was used a lot in Egyptian temples: you go through a slowly constricting passage, and then go through a small threshold into a large space. The idea is that it makes the viewer much more awed, due to the contrast in sizes of the space.

Domed stairway room, which leads to a second level. Doing the spiral ramps took quite a while.

Column design

And where I am now.

In Unity. Originally I planned on having a ceiling over the whole hallway (with rooms above), but I'm considering making the vault get thinner and continuing over the entire hallway.

This entry was posted in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

