Early Progress: The Theatre

I’ve made a lot of progress on the visual look of The Theatre (which is what I’m calling my new project now), so thought I’d post up some screenshots. I’m still very early on, but I’m really happy with how it looks.

I was messing around with some settings and kind of accidentally come upon this look.

To geta bit technical, it’s pure white fog, with the ambient light set to pure black. Everything has a solid color texture, but without an extra light it all appears black. There’s no shading, the only thing that gives depth is the fog. It’s very simple, and I think it’s very aesthetically pleasing, which is a perfect combination.

Still at “study model” phase, but the architectural stuff is looking really nice. It’ll be interesting to see how it looks with more detailed models.

I’ve been toying around with adding in color. I gave the nodes a separate shader, which makes the color show up regardless of the ambient light, but still with no shading. The play between 2d and 3d with these geometric forms is perfect.

That’s the Theatre proper, as it currently stands. I’m also playing with having light spheres that the player can pick up. With the black ambient light, these lights would reveal the colors of the environment.

Overall, I think simple will be better, but I am planning on having fairly robust environments. Outside the theatre, there’ll be trees, other flora, and stones and such. At this point, I probably need to start focusing on making more assets.

This entry was posted in architecture, environments, Giulio Camillo, progress, The Theatre and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

